The Yawhg

The Yawhg (00)

A few days ago, I was sitting in my apartment with my girlfriend. She was browsing some social media on her mobile communication device, and I was scrolling through reddit. I looked at her and remembered that I loved her. So I decided that I would look through my Steam account for a videogame that we could play together.

I think I had been saving The Yawhg for just such an occasion. I installed it and invited her to sit with me and share and experience. I’m glad that I did.

The Yawhg is a bite-sized adventure game about impending doom. You have 6 weeks to do with as you please, after which something called the Yawhg will arrive.  You can spend the week meditating in the garden, chopping wood in the forest, doing clerical work in the palace, or getting drunk in the tavern. Every choice you make will have unexpected and often humorous repercussions. These consequences shape who you are—both before and after the coming of the Yawhg.

There is nothing complicated about this game. The premise is simple, and there is no real challenge to be found. But The Yawhg is absolutely overflowing with charm and creativity. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

However, I have one stipulation that accompanies my recommendation: play this game with another person. Seriously! I certainly could have played by myself, but the gamer in me would have blasted through the whole game multiple times at breakneck speed… to the detriment of the experience.

Without a doubt, The Yawhg is at its best when it is shared. Playing with my non-gamer girlfriend encouraged me to slow down and actually appreciate each decision and its outcome. We laughed and high-fived. I was able to watch her get a little taste of what makes video games such a unique medium, and she was glad to have shared the experience with me. It was awesome.

Leave a Reply

